2. History of my HH

My wife and I got married at Easter in 2011 when I was 30, and started trying for a family not long afterwards. Really the journey had begun about 10 years earlier, when at the age of 20 (but looking like I was still 12 years old) I was diagnosed with Hypogonadotropic Hypogonadism (HH).

 

For those that aren’t medically in-the-know, HH is a condition where the pituitary gland doesn’t secrete lutenizing hormone (LH) and follicle stimulating hormone (FSH). I don’t fully, or even partly, understand why, but one of the affects of this is that the body doesn’t release testosterone. Remember that I mentioned I looked 12 when I was 20? Well having virtually zero testosterone meant my body had never gone through puberty or developed beyond that of a child. Now that I think about it, it’s hardly surprising that my best friend going through university eventually turned out to be a pedophile! But that’s a story for my psychiatrist’s couch, not this blog. Anyway, having been diagnosed with HH, I was advised that it was unlikely that I would ever become a biological father to any children.

Leave a Reply

